Black Bears



Black Bears Receive Conference Honors

Friday May 31st, 2013

PRESS RELEASE: Longview-Kelso, Washington


A number of incoming  and former Cowlitz Black Bears have received recognition for their performance during their 2013 collegiate seasons.  Included among the honorees are catcher Josh Rapacz (George Fox), who was named the Division III West Region Player of the Year, All- West Region and Third Team All-American.    

A complete list is below, with incoming players in bold.

Josh Rapacz (C, George Fox), Division III West Region Player of Year, All-West Region First Team, All-American Third Team

Coley Bruns (P, Grand Canyon), Pacific West Conference First Team

Brian Frattali (1B, U. of Portland)-  West Coast Conference First Team

Taylor Williams (P, Kent  State) - Mid-American Conference First Team

Billy Sahlinger (P, U of Portland) - West Coast Conference All-Freshman First Team

Kyle Leady (DH, Lower Columbia College) - NWAACC First Team

Austin Diemer (OF, Cal State Fullerton)- Big West Conference Second Team

Ray Aguilar (OF, Santa Ana College) - Orange Empire Conference Second Team

Derrick Salberg (OF, Lower Columbia College) - NWAACC Second Team

Brian Carroll (OF, UCLA)- Pac-12 Honorable Mention

Cole Irvin (P, Oregon)- Pac-12 Honorable Mention

Brett Thomas (OF, Oregon)- Pac-12 Honorable Mention

Devin Bolasky (OF, UC Riverside) - Big West Honorable Mention

Graham Wiest (P, Cal State Fullerton)- Big West Honorable Mention

Jason Mahood (2B, U. of San Francisco)- West Coast Conference Honorable Mention